Registered User Login

Translate This Page





Certificate Manager:
Mike Crawshaw G4BLH


  • No contacts prior to April 1, 1998 may be submitted.
  • All stations worked must have been in the County/Region/Unitary Authority being claimed at the time of the contact.
  • Contacts to/from fixed, mobile or portable stations are valid.
  • The initial certificate will be issued on submission of any 5 Counties/Regions/Unitary Authorities.
  • Endorsements may be applied for on submission of (in total) 10, 20 (merit endorsement), 30, 40 (excellence endorsement), and 50 Counties/Regions/Unitary Authorities.
  • The following Country Seals may be applied for:
    • ES - England Seal - Awarded when minimum of 32 English Counties/ Regions/UA's are worked.
    • SS - Scotland Seal - Awarded when minimum 8 Scottish Regions/UA's are worked.
    • WS - Wales Seal - Awarded when minimum 5 Welsh Regions/UA's are worked.
  • The Great Britain Seal (GBS) will be issued automatically when ES + SS + WS have been issued.
  • A special All Great Britain Counties and Regions Certificate (AGB) will be issued free to any applicant who submits all 67 Counties/Regions/Authorities.
  • All applications for the initial certificate, seals or endorsements must include the appropriate record information (see the worksheet link at the bottom of the page).
  • The Great Britain 10-10 Counties and Regions application sheet and rules are available from the Award Manager. A written explanation of the organization structure of the Great Britain Counties and Regions Award is also available from the Award Manager.
  • Email requests for certificates, seals or endorsements will be accepted, providing all relevant information is included.
  • QSL confirmation of contact is NOT required, however a copy of the appropriate station log must be provided if requested by the Award Manager.
  • 10-10 Awards general rules and requirements are applicable.
  • Work Sheet available on the Key Forms page.

Effective - January 1, 2000


  • (a) Great Britain consists of England, Scotland and Wales. Northern Ireland is not part of Great Britain (a geographical area - the largest island in the British Isles).
  • (b) England is divided into Counties and Unitary Authorities, while Scotland and Wales are divided into Unitary Authorities. These are shown, in alphabetical order, on the record sheet.
  • (c) In 1974, the Counties were reorganised, and some Metropolitan areas were created
  • (d) To further complicate matters, some districts within Counties or Metropolitan areas applied for, and received unitary status ( roughly translated ,they became financially independent of the Counties or Metropolitan areas). Some of these Unitary Authorities came into effect in 1996, some in 1997 and the rest come into effect on April 1st 1998.
  • (e) For the purposes of this award, the English Counties are those based on Ceremonial Arrangements. Most Unitary Authorities in England are, for the purpose of Ceremonial Arrangements either 'attached' to a County or have 'County status'.
  • (f) Also for the purposes of this award, some Unitary Authorities have been grouped together in what has been called a Region, in England because there are many small UA's in densely populated areas like London, while in Scotland and Wales because there are many relatively uninhabitated (particularly as regards amateur radio) UA's.
  • These Regions are clearly shown as 'Regions' on the record sheet, Unitary Authorities are shown in Italics.
  • (g) Only contacts after April 1st 1998 are valid (which is when the last Unitary Authorities come into existence)
  • (h) The addresses of British stations given in callbooks can be misleading because the postal address sometimes uses the OLD county system... .BEWARE.
  • Also some TOWNS have the same name as Counties/Regions/UA's ... do not confuse the two.
  • In the event of any uncertainty about which County/UA a particular town or village is part of, contact the CM who will try and help you out, but please look at the supplementary notes first.
  • (i) As some Counties/Regions/UA's are very sparsely populated (and very 'thin' on any radio amateurs , never mind those with 10-10 numbers), this is not a 'Worked All Counties' and Regions Award



A. England
1. Includes the UA of Luton.
2. Includes the UAs of Bracknell Forest, West Berkshire
(Newbury), Reading, Slough, Windsor & Maidenhead, Wokingham.
3. Is the UA of Bristol.
4. Includes the UA of Milton Keynes.
5. Includes the UA of Peterborough.
6. Includes the UAs of Halton, Warrington
9. Includes the UA of Derby City.
10. Includes the UAs of Plymouth, Torbay.
11. Includes the UAs of Poole, Bournmouth
12. Includes the UAs of Darlington, Hartlepool, Stockton (north
of the River Tees).
13. Includes the UAs of Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire.
14 Includes the UAs of Brighton & Hove.
15. Includes the UAs of Southend, Thurrock .
16. Includes the UA of South Gloucestershire.
17. Includes the UAs of Portsmouth, Southampton.
18. Is the UA of Herefordshire
20. Is the UA of Isle of Wight.
21. Includes the UAs of Medway Towns (Rochester and Gillingham).
22. Includes UAs of Blackpool, Blackburn with Darwen
23. Includes UA of Leicester City.
24. Includes UA's of North Lincolnshire, North East Lincolnshire
25. Groups together the UAs of City of London, Barking &
Dagenham, Barnet, Bexley, Brent, Bromley, Camden, Croydon,
Ealing, Enfield, Greenwich, Hackney, Hammersmith & Fulham,
Haringey, Harrow, Havering, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Islington,
Kensington & Chelsea, Kingston-Upon-Thames, Lambeth, Lewisham,
Merton, Newham, Redbridge, Richmond-Upon-Thames, Southwark, Sutton,
Tower Hamlets, Waltham Forest, Wandsworth, Westminster.
26. Groups together the UAs of Wigan, Bolton, Bury, Rochdale,
Salford, Trafford, Manchester, Oldham, Tameside, Stockport.
27. Groups together the UAs of Sefton, Wirral, Liverpool,
St.Helens, Knowsley.
29. Includes the UAs of Redcar & Cleveland, York,
Middlesbrough, Stockton (south of River Tees).
32. Includes the UA of Nottingham City.
34 Is the UA of Rutland.
35. Includes the UA of The Wrekin.
36. Includes the UAs of North Somerset, Bath & North East Somerset.
37. Groups together the UAs of Barnsley, Sheffield,
Rotherham, Doncaster.
38. Includes the UA of Stoke-on-Trent.
41 Groups together the UAs of Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, Sunderland,
Gateshead, North Tyneside, South Tyneside
43. Groups together the UAs of Wolverhampton, Walsall, Dudley,
Sandwell, Birmingham, Solihull, Coventry.
45. Groups together the UAs of Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees,
Leeds, Wakefield.
46. Includes the UA of Swindon.


B. Scotland
48. Groups together the UA's of North Ayrshire, South Ayrshire,
East Ayrshire.
49. Groups together the UA's of Inverclyde, West Dunbartonshire,
East Dunbartonshire, Renfrewshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow
50 Is the UA of Dumfries and Galloway
51. Groups together the UA's of Fife, Falkirk, Clackmannanshire.
52. Groups together the UA's of Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire and Moray
53 Is the UA of Highland
54. Groups together the UA's of North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire.
55. Groups together the UA's of Argyll and Bute, Stirling
56. Groups together the UA's of West Lothian, Mid Lothian, East
Lothian, Edinburgh
57. Groups together the UA's of Shetland Islands, Orkney Islands
58. Is the UA of Scottish Borders
59. Groups together the UA's of Angus, Dundee, Perth and Kinross
60. Is the UA of Western Isles


C. Wales
61. Groups together the UA's of Denbighshire, Flintshire, Wrexham
62. Groups together the UA's of Gwynedd, Conwy, Isle of Anglesey
63. Is the UA of Powys
64. Groups together the UA's of Monmouthshire, Torfaen,
Newport, Blaenau Gwent
65. Groups together the UA's of Cardiff, Caerphilly, Methyr Tydfil,
Vale of Glamorgan, Rhondda Cynon Taff
66. Groups together the UA's of Swansea, Neath Port Talbot,
67. Groups together the UA's of Pembrokeshire, Carmarthenshire,

updated 07-03-2016